CRA Conference at Snowbird 2000 
July 9 - 11, 2000
Snowbird, Utah


As usual, the NSF Research Infrastructure Workshop (July 7-9) and
 the CRA Board of Directors meeting (July 8-9) preceded the conference.

Sunday, July 9
Monday, July 10
Tuesday, July 11

Click on session titles for summaries and slides. More will be added as they are received.

Sunday, July 9

Registration 2:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m (Level C - top of the escalators)

Workshop for New Department Chairs 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. (Wasatch)
           Chairs: Kathleen McKeown (Columbia University)
Stuart Zweben (Ohio State University)

Welcome Reception 6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. (Golden Cliff)

Dinner 7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. (Ballrooms 1 and 2)
Speaker: William A. Wulf (President, National Academy of Engineering; AT&T Professor, University of Virginia)
Topic: Some Challenges for Computer Science as it Enters the 21st Century


Monday, July 10

Breakfast Buffet 7:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. (Aerie Restaurant)

Registration 7:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (Level C - top of the escalators)

Welcome 8:30 a.m. - 8:40 a.m. (Ballrooms 1 and 2)
Speakers: Frances Allen (Industrial Snowbird Chair, IBM TJ Watson Research Center)
John Stankovic (Academic Snowbird Chair, University of Virginia)

JOINT ACADEMIC/INDUSTRIAL PLENARY SESSION I 8:40 a.m. - 10:10 a.m. (Ballrooms 1 and 2)

What Are the Important Research Areas for the New Millennium?
Chair: Frances Allen (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center)
Speakers: David Clark (Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Chair, CSTB)
Ambuj Goyal (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center)
Susan Graham (University of California, Berkeley)
Michael Lesk (National Science Foundation CISE)

10:10 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. (Ballroom Lobby)

Workshop I (parallel sessions) 10:30 a.m. - Noon

Luncheon Noon - 1:30 p.m. (Conference Center Terrace)

JOINT ACADEMIC/INDUSTRIAL PLENARY SESSION II 1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. (Ballrooms 1 and 2)

Impact of the Economic Development Imperative on Universities
           University research was once seen as the engine for national defense;
           now it is seen as the engine for economic growth--especially in the
           areas of computing and communications.  This raises a host of issues
           such as intellectual property ownership, technology transfer, faculty
           retention, leave policy, conflicts of interest, the professor as
           entrepreneur, and promotion and tenure criteria.  In this plenary
           we examine how university administrators, faculty, graduate students,
           venture capitalists, and industry see these issues.
Chair: James Foley (Yamacraw Mission and Georgia Institute of Technology)
Speakers: Rick Adrion (National Science Foundation)
Randy Katz (University of California, Berkeley)
Steven Lazarus (ARCH Venture Partners)

Break 3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. (Ballroom Lobby)

Workshop II (parallel sessions) 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Birds of a Feather/Open Networking 5:15 p.m. - 6:15 p.m.
Scheduled Sessions (those interested should sign up on the poster board):
1. Special Concerns and Issues for Computer Engineering Departments
2. Special Concerns and Issues for Canadian CS/CE Departments
3. Academic Computing Outside North America
            David Arnold (Professor of Information Systems, University of East Anglia)
            Hassan Mathkour (Chair of Computer Science, King Saud University)
4. Strategies for Success in NSF's Science and Technology Center Program 
           This workshop will familiarize potential PIs with the review process
           and the review criteria for NSF's various centers programs with
           particular emphasis on the Science and Technology Centers.  This
           workshop is designed to assist PIs who have submitted a letter of
           intent to the 2001 STC competition and/or who may plan to submit
           a preproposal.  The workshop will also discuss the Engineering
           Research Centers and other centers programs.
           Chair: Rick Adrion (National Science Foundation)
           Participants: Dragana Brzakovic (National Science Foundation)
Mita Desai (National Science Foundation)
Steven Mahaney (National Science Foundation)

Other open discussion sessions will be self-organizing.  A poster board will be available for suggesting topics where people may sign up.  Rooms will be assigned based on the level of interest.

Other potential topics:
- How to scale computer fluency courses
- Supporting department infrastructure
- Designing and moving into a new building
- A chair's fund-raising responsibilities
- How to get and use an associate chair
- How to evaluate teaching
- Keeping people in the face of escalating salaries
- Other

Dinner and State of the CRA Address
6:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. (Ballrooms 1 and 2)
Edward Lazowska (University of Washington) and William Aspray (CRA)


CRA Distinguished Service Award, presented by Stephen Yau (Arizona State University), to Juris Hartmanis (Cornell University)

CRA A. Nico Habermann Award, presented by Mary Lou Soffa (University of Pittsburgh), to Roscoe Giles (Boston University)


Tuesday, July 11

Breakfast Buffet 7:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. (Aerie Restaurant)

PLENARY SESSION III 8:30 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. (Ballrooms 1 and 2)

Educational Challenges for the New Millennium
           Computer Science departments in particular, and higher education in
           general, will face an increasing number of challenges in the coming
           years:  the continued proliferation of distance education programs
           and delivery mechanisms (both synchronous and asynchronous), the
           emergence of IT information technology as an academic discipline on
           campuses, professional education, and certification.  Many of these
           issues may well challenge our long-held notions of computer science
           as a discipline and our roles as educators.
           Chair: Rick Adrion (National Science Foundation)
           Speakers: Gordon Davies (Open University, UK)
Peter Denning (George Mason University)
Dennis Gannon (Indiana University)
Ellis Horowitz (University of Southern California)

Break 10:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. (Ballroom Lobby)

Workshop III (parallel sessions) 10:30 a.m. - Noon

Luncheon [CRA Board Interaction with Conference Participants]
Noon - 1:30 p.m. (Conference Center Terrace)

Workshop IV (parallel sessions) 1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. 

Workshop for Deans 1:30 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. (Magpie)
            Chair: Peter Freeman (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Dean's Dinner (Maybird)


Members of the CRA Conference at Snowbird 2000 Committee:

       Co-Chairs: John A. Stankovic (University of Virginia), Academic
Frances E. Allen (T. J. Watson Research Center), Industry
       Members: James Foley (Georgia Tech and the Yamacraw Mission)
David S. Johnson (AT&T Labs--Research)
James Kurose (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Eric Manning (University of Victoria)
Barbara Ryder (Rutgers University)


Sponsored By:

Copyright © 2004 Computing Research Association. All Rights Reserved. Questions? E-mail:

Document last modified Wednesday, 04-Apr-2012 06:45:28 PDT.