CRA Logo

About CRA
CRA for Students
CRA for Faculty
Computing Community Consortium (CCC)
Government Affairs
Computing Research Policy Blog
Data & Resources
CRA Bulletin
What's New

CRA Announces Three Service Award Winners

CRA is pleased to announce the winners of its 2007 Distinguished Service and A. Nico Habermann awards.

CRA Distinguished Service Awards A. Freeman, recently named a director at the Washington Advisory Group in Washington, DC, was selected for his service as Assistant Director of NSF for CISE over the past four years. He assumed the CISE position in 2002, following 12 years as Dean of the College of Computing at Georgia Institute of Technology and a term as Chief Information Officer for the Institute.

During his tenure at NSF, Freeman brought about dramatic changes in the directions and support of computing research. He reduced the number of CISE divisions and programs, and clustered the remaining programs to create more effective and flexible program management and, ultimately, better service to computing researchers. He also shepherded the move of the Shared CyberInfrastructure Division (SCI) out of CISE and into the Office of the Director.

Peter Freeman was largely responsible for three additional major initiatives that will change the face of computing research over the next two decades. He introduced the Global Environment for Networking Innovations (GENI) initiative, which will redefine networking globally as we know it. The Computing Community Consortium (CCC) will bring together computing community leaders to determine research directions and infrastructure needs in a fashion that will allow the CISE community to compete effectively against other S&E disciplines for limited research and infrastructure funds. And the Broadening Participation (BPC) program (funded at unprecedented levels) will develop the diverse human capital necessary to sustain the U.S. computing research enterprise.

John E. Hopcroft, the IBM Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics in Computer Science at Cornell University, was recognized for his remarkable record of service to the computing research community.

In the late 1960s and early 1970s he was involved in broadening SIAM's scope to include computing. When the IEEE and ACM started conferences such as FOCS and SIGACT, Hopcroft served on the program committees, first as a member and then as chair. He was one of the founding editors, and later managing editor, of SIAMís prestigious journal SICOMP. He subsequently served on the Board of Directors of SIAM (1989-97) and as chairman of the board (1992-93). At NSF, Hopcroft was active on various NSF advisory boards, including the National Science Board, where he chaired the Committee on Program and Plans that oversaw all major science funding, including computer science programs and the supercomputing centers. He was instrumental in this committee making the decision to privatize the Internet.

Hopcroft has served on many advisory boards, including NASAís SSAAC which helped prioritize space research missions after the Challenger disaster. He has served professional organizations such as AAAS where he has served as chair of Section T on Information, Computing and Communications (1988-91) and as council delegate from 1998 to the present. He has served as editor for a number of leading journals; on advisory boards for academic departments such as Princeton, Yale, CMU, USC, and UC Berkeley; and on numerous review committees. Hopcroft helped the Vietnam Educational Foundation build computer science education in Vietnam, and currently is working with the Millennium Foundation, with support from the World Bank, to help build science infrastructure in Chile.

CRA A. Nico Habermann Award

The CRA board selected Janice E. Cuny to receive the 2007 A. Nico Habermann Award for her dedication, effectiveness, national scope, breadth of impact, vision, and leadership in broadening the participation of all underrepresented groups in computing. Cuny, a Professor of Computer and Information Science at the University of Oregon, is currently a Program Director in CISE at the National Science Foundation.

Jan Cuny has been a prime mover within CRA-W on a number of projects over a long period of time, including: co-founder (with Mary Lou Soffa) of both the Grad Cohort and the Associate Professor Cohort programs; Distributed Mentor Program; Computing Research Experiences for Women; and Computing Research Experiences for Undergraduates. In addition, she was co-author (with Bill Aspray) of the highly regarded and widely read report, "Best Practices in the Recruitment and Retention of Women Graduate Students in Computer Science and Engineering"; co-organizer of one of the earliest CRA panels on diversity in computing (1996); and a member of the Executive Committee of the Coalition to Diversify Computing.

Currently Cuny directs the Broadening Participation in Computing (BPC) program at NSF. From the beginning of this program, her vision directed a process that has been a model of inclusiveness for diversity-oriented programs at NSF and elsewhere.

Search WWW Search

Copyright © 2007 Computing Research Association. All Rights Reserved. Questions? E-mail: