CRA Logo

About CRA
CRA for Students
CRA for Faculty
Computing Community Consortium (CCC)
Government Affairs
Computing Research Policy Blog
Data & Resources
CRA Bulletin
What's New

Past Computing Leadership Summits

CRA organizes an annual summit of the presidents, executive directors, and other senior leadership of CRA, its six affiliate societies--AAAI, ACM, CACS/AIC, IEEE-CS, SIAM, and USENIX--and the NRC's Computer Science and Telecommunications Board to discuss issues of common concern. The meetings are held in the Washington, DC, area.


CRA’s fourteenth Summit was held February 25, 2008, in Washington, DC.

  • Chuck Vest (National Academy of Engineering), “Update.”
  • Peter Harsha (CRA), Task Force on the Future of American Innovation, “Research Funding.”
  • Jon Eisenberg (Computer Science and Telecommunications Board, NRC), “Ongoing and Future Projects.”
  • Jill Ross and Jim Foley (Image Task Force), “The Image of Computing.”
  • John Retelle and Mike Swetnam (Potomac Institute), “The Future of CS Study/Proposal.”
  • Dan Reed (CRA) and Bobby Schnabel (SIAM and Indiana University), “Education Initiatives.”
  • Ed Lazowska (University of Washington), “The Computing Community Consortium.”

CRA's thirteenth Summit was held February 26, 2007, in Washington, DC.

CRA's twelfth Summit was held February 27, 2006 in Washington, DC. Participants were updated on progress made by the two task forces that were established at the 2005 Summit: the Task Force on the Image of Computing (chair Rick Rashid, Microsoft); and the Task Force on Computing Research Funding (chair Ed Lazowska, University of Washington, Seattle). Douglas Comer, Director for Legal Affairs and Technology Policy in Washington, DC, for Intel Corp. was invited to speak on the industrial push behind increasing federal funding for physical sciences following the publication of "The American Competitiveness Initiative" report. Peter Freeman, Assistant Director of NSF for CISE, provided details of its planned GENI (Global Environment for Networking Investigations) initiative and the need for broad community support.

CRA's eleventh Summit was held February 28, 2005 in Washington, DC. In addition to CRA's affiliate members, this year's Summit was expanded to include a number of representatives from other organizations and from industry labs who are concerned about computing research issues. The purpose was to address several problems critical to computing research: 1) the declining federal investment in computing research, 2) the small number of US-born undergraduates who attend graduate school in computing and related fields, and 3) the small number of US high school students who choose computing and related fields as a college major. In response to these three problems, the goal of the Summit was to work together to create and disseminate clear and consistent messages that make the case for: a) increased federal funding of computing research; b) going to grad school in computing; and c) undergraduate majors/minors in computing.

CRA's tenth Summit was held February 23, 2004 in Washington, DC. Speakers included John C. Sargent [slides] (Senior Policy Analyst in the Technology Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce) who spoke on workforce issues related to offshore outsourcing, followed by a discussion period. Peter Rooney, Deputy Chief of Staff, House Science Committee; DARPA Director, Anthony Tether; and Eric Jakobsson [slides], Director of the NIGMS Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology at NIH, also made presentations.

CRA's ninth Summit was held February 10, 2003 in Arlington, VA. Speakers included Peter Freeman, Assistant Director for CISE at NSF; Benjamin Wu, Deputy Under Secretary for Technology, U.S. Department of Commerce; David Radzanowski, Office of Management and Budget; and Ron Brachman, Director, Information Processing Technology Office, DARPA. A government affairs roundtable was chaired by Peter Harsha, CRA's Director of Government Affairs.

The eighth Summit was held February 11, 2002 in Arlington, Virginia. Attendees included representatives from ACM, IEEE-Computer Society, SIAM, USENIX, AAAI, and CRA's newest affiliate member from Canada, CAIS/AIC. Rita Colwell, Director of the National Science Foundation, was the opening speaker. Other guest speakers included David Radzanowski, Office of Management and Budget; Capt. D. "Mike" Egan, Chief of the National Response Center, U.S. Coast Guard; Alan Leshner, Chief Executive Officer of AAAS; Alan Merten, President of George Mason University; and Rep. Nick Smith, Chair of the House Subcommittee on Research. The societies also provided updates of their current activities and discussed issues of common interest.

The seventh Summit was held February 5, 2001. The chief of staff of the House Science Committee provided a briefing on the committee's agenda and priorities. Presentations were made on three NSF projects (DUE National Dissemination Project, the ITR initiative, and a new funding initiative for mathematics), as well as the AAAS Project on Alternative Paths to the Undergraduate CS Degree. There was also discussion on electronic publishing and issues facing computing societies today and in the future. Guest speakers included Andrew Bernat, Robert Eisenstein, and Michael Lesk, all from NSF; David Goldston, House Science Committee; Tom Price, American Association of Engineering Societies; and Shirley Malcom, AAAS.

The sixth Summit was held March 27, 2000. Participants were briefed on appropriations, authorizations, and workforce legislation, as well as NSF and DARPA funding. Societies shared information about their current initiatives, and there was a discussion of issues related to women and minorities. Invited speakers included Shankar Sastry, Director of the Information Technology Office at DARPA, and Ruzena Bajcsy, Assistant Director, CISE, National Science Foundation.

The fifth Summit was held on March 10, 1999. The primary focus of this year's event was the proposed Information Technology for the 21st Century Initiative (IT2 ), which would increase support for computing and communications research by $366 million. In addition, participants were briefed on DOE's Scientific Simulation Initiative, R&D policy at DOD, and intellectual property protection. Guest speakers included Martha Krebs, Department of Energy; David Tennenhouse, DARPA; Ruzena Bajcsy, NSF; and Peter Jaszi, American University.

The fourth Summit was held on October 20, 1997. Participants discussed policy issues affecting computing research. (Includes slides from Albert Teich's, AAAS, discussion of trends in government funding of scientific research and development.)

Search WWW Search

Copyright © 2007 Computing Research Association. All Rights Reserved. Questions? E-mail: